Tags

, ,

This error was a surprise for me. I was searching on the internet and could not find one similar case. So I started to investigate on my own and asked users what is the last operation they did before this error appeared. It turned out they copy paste some text from Word into a rich text editor in a custom form.

Once I figured out is something related to rich text box editor, I investigate text they copy pasted from Word and it turned out it contains tags like this.

<font face="Arial">Text here</font>

Was clear for me face property generated the error, but still did no explain why error could not be reproduced in default forms. So I paid all my attention to the rich text editor control.

<SharePoint:InputFormTextBox runat="server" ClientIDMode="Static"  TextMode="MultiLine" Height="70px"  RichText="False" EnableViewState="false" RichTextMode="Compatible" ID="SSOWRequiredServices">
					<xsl:value-of select="@_x0028_SSOW_x0029__x0020_Service" disable-output-escaping="yes" />
</SharePoint:InputFormTextBox>

On a first look, you might say everything is correct, but is not quite correct. I did a mistake declaring text property inside the control tags. It should be declared in a proper way like below.

<SharePoint:InputFormTextBox runat="server" ClientIDMode="Static" Text="{@_x0028_SSOW_x0029__x0020_Service}" TextMode="MultiLine" Height="70px"  RichText="False" EnableViewState="false" RichTextMode="Compatible" ID="SSOWRequiredServices">
</SharePoint:InputFormTextBox>
